Camp NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo!  AKA National Novel Writing Month, which is in November.  Hopefully, anyone reading already knows of this wonderful month full of coffee and late nights in front of the computer, but if you do not, it is a month in which those at nanowrimo.org encourage everyone to try to write a novel in a month.  What you do is set up an account on NaNoWriMo.com, set your word goal (Anywhere from 10,000-50,000) and finally, write!

Wait.

If NaNoWriMo is in November, why am I so excited about it now, months away from when it happens?  Well, Camp NaNoWriMo is essentially the same thing, except in the summer.  I’ve done normal NaNoWriMo before, but never the Camp NaNoWriMo.  I am hoping this time I can get a decent word count, since I should be less busy.  That is, if I don’t decide to take the super-insane-Japanese course over the summer.  I didn’t tell you about that, did I?

Well, I have recently taken an interest in learning languages, Japanese in particular.  The problem is, I can only take one language at a time.  So, I am currently taking Spanish, which I find fun, interesting, and helpful to my improving English.  I have the option to switch to Japanese online next year, however, that would mean dropping Spanish, which I think is becoming more and more important in today’s economy.  Which is where learning it in the summer comes in.  Of course, even the most intense course of Japanese over 3 months time would never cover a year’s worth, but at least I could get started on it.  I was also thinking I may be able to take an online course for Japanese next year, and get worksheets from one of the students taking Spanish to do on my own.  The problems with this idea is that 1) I have to find a student willing to copy all their worksheets for me 2) It will take the utmost discipline to keep up with all my classes and still get straight A’s and 3) I’m not sure if I’m allowed xD

Now, back to writing.  Camp NaNoWriMo is explained on this website http://www.campnanowrimo.org/about -I highly encourage you to do this, even if you haven’t written before.  So throw away the perfectionist for a month, and write!  This would be my writing challenge to you for, well, one month.

Now, to end with the words of a Mr. John Green-“This is what I love about Novels, both reading them and writing them.  They jump into the abyss, to be with you, where you are”.

DFTBA,

Rambling Writer 😉

One comment on “Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. jesi90 says:

    You can actually do more than 50K as well, I’m aiming for 75K this time around. Good Luck

Leave a Reply

